Skip to content

St David Awards

Celebrating exceptional people in Wales

The St David Awards takes place
on 10 March 2016

Find out more

The St David Awards recognise and celebrate the exceptional achievements of people from all walks of life in Wales. View last years nominations and winners


St David Awards

What are the awards?

What are the awards?

Find out more
How to nominate

The Advisory Committee

Find out more
Previous Awards

Previous Awards

Find out more

Related links

That’s it! The nomination period has closed.
We’re fast approaching the closure of nominations for this year’s awards.
Wales is full of fantastic people doing exceptional and extraordinary things.
If you haven’t nominated already, now is the time to do so.
If you are in the National Eisteddfod in Meifod on Monday 3 August call in at 2pm to the Welsh Government stand to learn more about St. David Awards.

Award categories

There are nine St David Awards. Each award is given in a specific category of activity and achievement, decided upon by the First Minister of the Welsh Government and his advisers.

Bravery Award

Citizenship Award

Culture Award

Enterprise Award

Innovation &
Technology Award

International Award

Sport Award

young person Award

First Minister's special Award

  • Bravery Award

    This is an award for an individual or group in Wales who have demonstrated remarkable courageous behaviour or character: doing what is right in difficult situations. This may entail simple fearlessness or physical bravery and involves acting in spite of possible harm to one's body.

  • Citizenship Award

    This award recognises an individual or group in Wales who through their unselfish actions have served the public good. These could reflect "active citizenship" in which citizens have worked towards the betterment of their community through economic participation, public action, volunteer work, and other such efforts to improve life for their fellow citizens.

  • Culture Award

    This is an award for an individual or group in Wales who have excelled in the arts and other manifestations of human intellectual achievement, expressed in any art form, language or medium.

  • Enterprise Award

    This is an award for an individual or group in Wales who through their endeavours have achieved remarkable success in business. This may include the creation of meaningful employment for oneself and others.

  • Innovation & TechnologyAward

    This award is intended for an individual, group, company or research team in Wales which has developed techniques or solutions that meet new requirements and provided more effective products, processes, services, technologies, or ideas that are available to society at large.

  • International Award

    This award recognises any individual or group who has through their work, personal prominence or influence promoted Wales on the world stage.

  • Sport Award

    This award recognises an individual, team or group in Wales who have achieved excellence or success in recognised activities based on physical athleticism or physical dexterity typically involving an element of competition.

  • Young person Award

    This award will be given to an exceptional inspirational young person of up to 19 years of age in any field in Wales.

  • First minister's special Award

    This award is in the personal gift of the First Minister - you cannot nominate for it directly. The award may not be automatically awarded annually and may depend on currency and relevance as well as merit. It could reflect collective as well as individual achievement. The recipient may be selected from one of the other award winners or may be selected independently of them.


The 2016 awards timeline

  • Jul6

    nominations open

  • Oct27

    nominations close

  • Jan20

    Short listed finalists announced

  • Mar10

    St David Awards Ceremony