Skip to content

About the awards

About the awards

The St David Awards are the national awards of Wales and are nominated for by the public.

They recognise the outstanding achievements of different people from both in, and outside of Wales. These awards demonstrate that this country is a vibrant, innovative and confident nation, which values its people above all else.

Judges image

The Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee members for the St David Awards will deliberate nominations to recommend 3 Finalists in each category for consideration by the First Minister so that he may choose the winners. More about the current advisory committee
Trophy image

The Awards Trophy

The first, prestigious St David Awards trophy commission to have been awarded competitively was given to eminent artist and sculptor Gideon Petersen. More about the trophy

Awards Ceremony


23 March 2017


Senedd, Cardiff

Award categories

There are 9 St David Awards. Each award is given in a specific category of activity and achievement, decided upon by the First Minister of the Welsh Government and his advisers.

Bravery Award

Citizenship Award

Culture Award

Enterprise Award

Innovation, Science &Technology Award

International Award

Sport Award

Young person Award

First Minister's Special Award Personally selected award

  • Bravery Award

    Awarded to those who have demonstrated remarkable courageous behaviour or character; doing what is right in difficult situations. This may entail simple fearlessness or physical bravery and involves acting in spite of possible harm to one's self.

  • Citizenship Award

    Intended for people who have served the public good through unselfish actions. Those who have worked towards the improvement of their local or national community through economic participation, public action, volunteer work, and other such efforts to improve life for their fellow citizens.

  • Culture Award

    For those in, or from Wales who have excelled in the arts and other forms of cultural achievement, expressed in any art form, language or medium. This can include, but is not limited to, those who may have succeeded in putting Wales on the world stage.

  • Enterprise Award

    Awarded to those who have achieved remarkable success in business. This may include the creation of meaningful employment for oneself and others.

  • Innovation, Science & TechnologyAward

    Intended for those who have developed techniques or solutions that meet new requirements and who have provided effective products, processes, services, technologies, or ideas that are available to society at large.

  • International Award

    This award recognises any individual or group from Wales who have made an outstanding contribution internationally.

  • Sport Award

    For an individual, team or group in Wales who have achieved or helped achieve excellence in the field of sport on a national level.

  • Young person Award

    This award will be given to an exceptional and inspirational young person or group of up to 19 years of age in any field in Wales.

  • First Minister's Special Award

    The personal gift of the First Minister - you cannot nominate for it directly. It could reflect collective as well as individual achievement. The recipient may be selected from one of the other award winners or may be selected independently of them.


The 2018 awards timeline

  • Mar23

    nominations open

  • Oct18

    nominations close

  • Feb15

    Short listed finalists announced

  • Mar22

    St David Awards Ceremony